New Year’s Eve Dinner

Before I begin this post, I would just like to admit that I have never cooked chicken before. I’m not a huge fan of cooking and I’m not a huge foodie (unless its covered in chocolate). So, here, on December 31st, 2014, I will chronicle my first chicken cooking experience.

But to start, I finally made something I have been wanting to try for forever: Mac and Cheese Grilled Cheese. Basically you make Mac and Cheese, and then put it with another piece of cheese to make a sandwich. It is a sandwich of awesome.

IMG_0549 And now for the Main Event.

The Recipe:

Baked Chicken with Onions, Potatoes, Garlic and Thyme 

Serves 4 but I made it for 2; Takes 1 Hour

Ingredients: 1 whole chicken cut into 8 pieces, 1 lb white new potatoes halved, 1 large red onion cut into eighths, 1 head of garlic cloves separated and unpeeled, 6 sprigs thyme, 1 lemon quartered, 1/4 cup extra virgin olive oil, 2 tablespoons balsamic vinegar, salt and pepper

*I used the same amount of everything except chicken. I only put in two breasts and two legs and it turned out fine*

Directions: Preheat oven to 450 degrees. Place chicken, potatoes, onion, garlic, lemon and thyme in a 12 by 16 inch roasting pan. Whisk together olive oil and vinegar and drizzle over chicken and veggies. Toss to combine and season with salt and pepper. Turn chicken skin side up. Cook until browned, about 50 minutes.

10420250_10152601070772749_3269051521676278783_n

This whole thing actually turned out a lot better than I thought it would! My mom laughed at me while I was touching the chicken, but it ended up being very juicy and pretty good!

IMG_0544

10386361_10152940212072456_607320426912328800_n

 

Wishing you all a year of great times!

Leave a Reply

